Fully funded collaborative PhD Scholarships

Global universities, global impact. A unique opportunity to study in the UK and Australia

Applications for the PhD Scholarships (2019 Entry) are now OPEN.

The Aberdeen-Curtin Alliance is offering unique opportunities to undertake doctoral study with a truly international dimension. Students undertaking a collaborative PhD under the alliance are offered a seamless international experience as well as a fully funded scholarship with living stipend. You will spend time at each institution and will be supervised by both Aberdeen and Curtin research staff.

Read more about specific English Language requirements here.

PhD Projects available for April 2019 start.

University of Aberdeen

The University of Aberdeen application deadline is 10 December 2018 and the start date of projects is April 2019.

Engineering and Energy (Global Energy Institute)

Green economy transitions in tourism in the Margaret River region (WA, Australia).

Informal inquiries can be made to Dr Piotr Niewiadomski (p.niewiadomski@abdn.ac.uk) with a copy of your curriculum vitae and cover letter.

Details APPLY NOW

Artificial photosynthesis at liquid-liquid interfaces.

Informal inquiries can be made to Professor Angel Cuesta Ciscar (angel.cuestaciscar@abdn.ac.uk) with a copy of your curriculum vitae and cover letter.

Details APPLY NOW

Tailwater hydrokinetic turbines: performance and environmental impact.

Informal inquiries can be made to Professor Vladimir Nikora (v.nikora@abdn.ac.uk) or Dr Stuart Cameron (s.cameron@abdn.ac.uk) with a copy of your curriculum vitae and cover letter.

Details APPLY NOW

Business

   

A comparative study of Corporate Environmental and Social and Governance (ESG) reporting in the UK and Australia.

Informal inquiries can be made to Mr Mark Whittington (mark.whittington@abdn.ac.uk) with a copy of your curriculum vitae and cover letter

Details APPLY NOW

Health sciences and medicine

 

A range of areas in Health Economics from the Health Economics Research Unit at Aberdeen and Curtin University including economics of health behaviours; development and application of discrete choice experiments (DCEs); economic evaluation of interventions and development of novel methods for utilising and analysing linked administrative health data.

Application deadline is 10 January 2019.

Informal inquiries can be made to Professor Marjon van der Pol (m.vanderpol@abdn.ac.uk) with a copy of your curriculum vitae and cover letter

Details APPLY NOW

Creative Arts

   

‘Creative writing – focusing on the theme of emigration and immigration between Scotland and Australia (whatever the direction of travel) with particular emphasis on diasporic experience’.

Informal inquiries can be made to Professor Alison Lumsden (a.lumsden@abdn.ac.uk) with a copy of your curriculum vitae and cover letter

Details APPLY NOW

Curtin University

The Curtin University  application deadline is 10 January 2019 and the start date of projects is April 2019.

Engineering and Energy (Global Energy Institute)

 

Pore Scale Modelling of Multiphase Reactive Systems

Informal inquiries can be made to Curtin Supervisor: Professor Victor Calo (Victor.Calo@curtin.edu.au) or Aberdeen Supervisor: Professor Jos Derksen (jderksen@abdn.ac.uk)

Details See application process below

New Techniques/Technology/Devices for Wave Energy Extraction

Informal inquiries can be made to Curtin Supervisor: Professor Ian Howard, (I.Howard@exchange.curtin.edu.au) and Aberdeen Supervisor: Professor Marian Wiercigroch (m.wiercigroch@abdn.ac.uk)

Details See application process below

The Implications of Renewable Energy for Sustainable Rural Development

Informal inquiries can be made to Curtin Supervisor: Associate Professor Amanda Davies (A.Davies@curtin.edu.au) and Aberdeen Supervisor: Dr Lorna Philip (l.philip@abdn.ac.uk)

Details See application process below

Creative Arts

   

Into the New World: Diaspora in Australian and Scottish Writing

 Informal inquiries can be made to Curtin Supervisor: Dr Rachel Robertson (R.Robertson@curtin.edu.au) or Aberdeen Supervisor: Professor Alison Lumsden (a.lumsden@abdn.ac.uk) with a copy of your curriculum vitae and cover letter

Details See application process below

Health Sciences and Medicine

   

To be announced

   

Curtin University Application process

Provide an Expression of Interest (EOI) reflecting your academic background in the area of study, and why you are interested in pursuing a PhD in this field. The EOI should be a maximum of 500 words that must include your name, your project of interest in addition to your academic background and suitability. It would be great to attach your CV/Resume with your EOI and send these two files in PDF format on email to ac-alliance@curtin.edu.au.

Students will be expected to commence by April 2019.

 

Collaborative PhD Scholarships projects are underway in the areas of:

Three places will be awarded at each university.
One place will be awarded at each university.